SOLT & UK Theatre congratulate industry leaders recognised in The Stage 100’s 2024 list

The Society of London Theatre (SOLT) & UK Theatre are thrilled to celebrate our Co-Chief Executives, Claire Walker and Hannah Essex, for being named on the Stage 100’s 2024 list. They are joined by over 50 SOLT and UK Theatre members, including UK Theatre’s Joint President Jon Gilchrist, SOLT’s President Eleanor Lloyd and Vice President Kash Bennett. The list also named the outstanding work of UK Theatre’s co-opted board member Carolyn Forsyth and SOLT board members Rosemary Squire, Robert Noble, Nia Janis, and Henny Finch. This significant recognition reflects their exceptional contributions to the industry.

Claire and Hannah have consistently demonstrated their dedication to the advancement of theatre sector. Most recently their work surrounding the launch of our Theatre for Every Child campaign is a testament to their commitment to creating a dynamic, sustainable and world class theatre sector. The initiative aims to ensure that every child has the opportunity to visit the theatre at least once during secondary school. A recent success includes the extension of Theatre Tax Relief in 2023 to maintain the pivotal support it provides theatre productions, and continuing to campaign for the higher rate to remain in perpetuity.

Hannah Essex Co-Chief Executive of SOLT, expressed her gratitude commenting, “To be recognised on the Stage 100’s 2024 list alongside so many of our members and other brilliant people is a true honour. This acknowledgment is a demonstration of the collective efforts of our team and the incredible work being done in the industry.

We are thrilled to have been named in the advocacy, outreach and community category. This encourages us to continue our work to create the conditions for the theatre sector to thrive, and to make theatre accessible to everyone, regardless of their background.

Full list of named SOLT & UK Theatre’s named members and rankings:

Number 1: Rufus Norris, Kate Varah, Kash Bennett – National Theatre

Number 2: Nica Burns – Nimax Theatres

Number 3: Ted Stimpson, Michael Lynas and Adam Speers – ATG

Number 4: Cameron Mackintosh

Number 5: Andrew Lloyd Webber

Number 6: Michael Harrison

Number 7: Sonia Friedman

Number 8: Howard Panter and Rosemary Squire

Number 11: David Ian

Number 12: Indhu Rubasingham

Number 13: Robert Noble

Number 14: Denise Wood – Almeida Theatre

Number 15: Lynette Linton and Mimi Findlay – Bush Theatre

Number 16 Caro Newling and Sam Mendes

Number 17: Jamie Wilson

Number 18: Curve Theatre

Number 19: Royal Shakespeare Company

London theatres

Nick Starr – the Bridge Theatre

Donmar Warehouse

Barbican Centre

Lyric Hammersmith

Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre

Shakespeare’s Globe

Regional theatres

Chichester Festival Theatre

Birmingham Rep

Jon Gilchrist – Birmingham Hippodrome

Watermill Theatre

Sheffield Theatres

Shakespeare North Playhouse

Theatre Royal Plymouth

Bristol Old Vic

Theatre Royal Bath

HOME, Manchester

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland

Theatr Genedlaethol Cymru

Lyric Theatre, Belfast

Sherman Theatre

Theatr Clwyd

Opera and Dance

Birmingham Royal Ballet

Royal Opera House


Sadler’s Wells

Commercial Producers

Ed Bartlam – Underbelly

James Bierman – Empire Street Productions

Colin Ingram – Colin Ingram Limited

Eleanor Lloyd – Eleanor Lloyd Productions

Emily Vaughan-Barratt – Wessex Grove

Francesca Moody – Francesca Moody Productions

Matthew Byam Shaw, Nia Janis and Nick Salmon – Playful Productions

Kenny Wax – Kenny Wax Productions

Not-for-profit producers

Carolyn Forsyth



English Touring Theatre