The Olivier Awards with Mastercard, the UK’s most prestigious stage honours, have today announced its 6 inaugural “Be Inspired Champions”. Nominated by members of the public and theatre industry, these six individuals have motivated and inspired others with their love and commitment to theatre.

The 6 champions will be invited to the ceremony on Sunday 9 April and will be presented with their plaque during the awards’ Facebook Live red carpet broadcast.

The “Be Inspired Champions” are:

Sally-Anne Coleman was nominated following her diagnosis of terminal cancer and died shortly after the winners were decided. As a performer, choreographer and director, Sally-Anne brought joy to so many. Through her work at a youth theatre group, Sally-Anne strived to ensure every child’s experience was special and passed on her love of performing to the next generation of theatre fans.

Stuart Clements, a drama teacher at a specialist school for children with autism, speech, language and communication difficulties, who has used theatre to improve the confidence of countless children.

Harry Gabriel has been Stagedoor Keeper at the Shaftesbury Theatre for over 35 years. The first face casts and crew see every day; Harry’s love and passion for his job has been infectious – a friend to all who enter the theatre.

Janet Hudson-Holt isthe Costume Supervisor for the world's longest running stage show, The Mousetrap. For 15 years she has been an integral part of the show, making the wheels of The Mousetrap turn. Her impact on the show is clearly visible, after Janet painstakingly recreated the costumes from the original incarnation of the show.      

Edwin Shaw is a friend and mentor to many in the theatre industry and 2017 marks his 60th year in show business. Beginning his career in 1957 as Box Office Clerk at Sheffield’s Empire Theatre, he moved to the London Palladium in 1968 where he was Box Office Manager at the iconic venue for 22 years. Edwin still consults for Really Useful Theatres as well as producers across the country.

Mark Thorburn has dedicated his career to championing theatre, whether as a primary school teacher organising theatre trips, his 15 years as Artistic Director of Coventry Youth Operetta Group or coordinating the centenary celebrations of the National Operatic and Dramatic Association.     

The awards, hosted by Jason Manford, will be broadcast in the UK and worldwide via ITV, Magic and Facebook. Scheduling will be announced shortly.

To keep up with the latest Olivier Awards 2017 with Mastercard news and to view this year’s nominations visit:

OlivierAwards.com | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


Date Published: 15 March 2017
dummy text needed to make this work - will be hidden in style

Get in touch

32 Rose Street
Covent Garden

+44 (0)20 7557 6700

  • Official London Theatre
  • UK Theatre
  • Theatre Tokens
  • TKTS
Society of London Theatre is a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales, whose registered office is at 32 Rose Street, London, WC2E 9ET, Company No 527227.